Sydney Opera House

Living Mural

A collaborative architectural projection


02, Burst: Patch d. Keyes

03, Fill: Drew Tyndell

04, Chase: Tymote

05, Multiply: Nicolas Ménard

06, Climb: Parallel Teeth

07, Rise: KClogg

08, Twist: Matt Scharenboich

09, Wind: Váscolo

10, Swarm: Universal Everything

11, Calm: Zutto

12, Float: Cindy Suen

13, Power: Masanobu Hiraoka

14, Slide: Ori Toor

15, Spin: Ori Toor

16, Wave: Váscolo

17, Construct: DXMIQ

18, Growth: DXMIQ

19, Flow: Ruff Mercy

20, Scatter: Caleb Wood

21, Shrink: Bee Grandinetti

22, Noise: Takcom

23, Attack: MixCode

24, Boom: nöbl

25, Bounce: Matt Abbiss

26, Ricochet: Matt Frodsham

27, Splash: Guille Comin

28, Bang: Universal Everything

29, Embrace: Matt Frodsham

30, Melt: Caleb Wood

31, Stripe: Matt Abbiss

A global animation project by Universal Everything, collaborating with over 20 different animation studios worldwide to create a living mural on one of the world’s most iconic buildings.


Embracing emerging technologies, Universal Everything’s process always starts from drawing. The hand drawn cell animation techniques seen in this film are akin to the early pioneers of animation Len Lye, Norman McLaren and Walt Disney.


Due to the use of traditional animation techniques, this film could have existed in 1920, albeit with a 21st century twist – bringing our influences of global pop culture, modernist graphics and physics simulations into a playful exploration of this iconic building.



Creative Director: Matt Pyke
Animation Director: Chris Perry
Sound Designer: Simon Pyke / Freefarm
Producer: Greg Povey
On-Site Producer: Mic Gruchy


Commissioned by Sydney Opera House for VIVID 2015



Animation Sequences :

01, Block: Universal Everything
02, Burst: Patch d. Keyes
03, Fill: Drew Tyndell
04, Chase: Tymote
05, Multiply: Nicolas Ménard
06, Climb: Parallel Teeth
07, Rise: KClogg
08, Twist: Matt Scharenboich
09, Wind: Váscolo
10, Swarm: Universal Everything
11, Calm: Zutto
12, Float: Cindy Suen
13, Power: Masanobu Hiraoka
14, Slide: Ori Toor
15, Spin: Ori Toor
16, Wave: Váscolo
17, Construct: DXMIQ
18, Growth: DXMIQ
19, Flow: Ruff Mercy
20, Scatter: Caleb Wood
21, Shrink: Bee Grandinetti
22, Noise: Takcom
23, Attack: MixCode
24, Boom: nöbl
25, Bounce: Matt Abbiss
26, Ricochet: Matt Frodsham
27, Splash: Guille Comin
28, Bang: Universal Everything
29, Embrace: Matt Frodsham
30, Melt: Caleb Wood
31, Stripe: Matt Abbiss


Download the full soundtrack by Freefarm